Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Prev article
Austin Schultz
Next article
Rachel Vann

Roy McEnturff

Time to read
1 minute
Read so far

Roy McEnturff

Posted in:


  • Article Image Alt Text

Funeral services for Roy Eugene McEnturff, 93, of Edgewood were held Saturday, June 8, 2019, at Allan Fuller Funeral Home Chapel in Wills Point with Rev. Pokey Good-son and Rev. Mike Burns officiating. Interment followed at Small Cemetery north of Edgewood. He passed away Tuesday afternoon, June 4, 2019, at a hospital in Tyler.

He was born Aug. 30, 1925, in Wills Point, the son of Walter Hamp McEnturff and Lena Mae McMillon McEnturff.

He was a lifelong resident of Edgewood. He was a graduate of Edgewood High School and later attended North Texas University in Denton.

He proudly served his country in the United States Navy, having served during World War II and the Korean Conflict.

On Dec. 9, 1949, he married Dena Roberts in Wills Point. He was formerly employed by Connor Junior High School in Dallas, Fred Florence Junior High School in Dallas and retired from Dallas I.S.D. in 1983.

During the summers, he worked at Pleasant Oaks Swimming Pool in Pleasant Grove, Gullett’s Jewelry and Timekeeper’s Jewelry.

He enjoyed teaching Sunday School and being with his family especially the grandchildren. He was treasurer for the South Tawakoni Water Board and a member of Good Hope Baptist Church in Edgewood.

He was preceded in death by his parents, Walt and Lena McEnturff; wife, Dena McEnturff on Jan. 7, 2017; and three brothers, James Eddie McEnturff, Bobby Leon McEnturff and Maxwell Ray McEnturff.

He is survived by his daughter, DeLynn McEnturff, of Edgewood; sister, Ruby Nell Segers, of Marshall; sister-in-law Lou Gullett, of Canton; three grandchildren, Aimee Brady and husband, Landon, Kindelle Scharfenberg and husband, Tim, and Tyler Scott; Six great-grandchildren, Tanner Scharfenberg, Aubrey Scharfenberg, Linda Scharfenberg, Averi Ryan, Colton Scott and Carter Scott; and many nieces and nephews.

Pallbearers were Tim Scharfenberg, Landon Brady, Tanner Scharfenberg, Brandon McEnturff and Beck Brady.

Honorary pallbearers were Aubrey Scharfenberg, Logan Wiedeman, Colton Scott and Carter Scott.