Edgewood, Grand Saline compete at District 12-3A Meet

Error message

  • Notice: Undefined index: taxonomy_term in similarterms_taxonomy_node_get_terms() (line 518 of /home1/vanzand1/public_html/vanzandtnews/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
  • Notice: Undefined offset: 0 in similarterms_list() (line 221 of /home1/vanzand1/public_html/vanzandtnews/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
  • Notice: Undefined offset: 1 in similarterms_list() (line 222 of /home1/vanzand1/public_html/vanzandtnews/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).

Cross country teams from Edgewood, Grand Saline, Eustace, Kemp, Mineola and Quitman made their way to Mineola Oct. 9, competing at the District 12-3A Meet for a chance to advance to Regionals.

Both schools competed well at the event with Grand Saline finishing second overall in the varsity boys division and Edgewood finishing fourth overall in the varsity boys division and second overall in the varsity girls division.

Each school took home a first place individual finish as Grand Saline's Eric Grant ran away from the varsity boys field for a 27 second victory and Edgewood's Claire James claiming victory with a 17 second victory over the next closest finisher.

Individual varsity boys results included:

-Edgewood: Noble Smith, sixth, 18:29.36; Brodie Prather, 18th, 20:35.39; Tanner Patterson, 21st, 21:18.96; Emanuel Fernandez, 23rd, 21:52.97; and Nash Heddin, 27th, 22:36.71

-Grand Saline: Eric Grant, first, 17:22.72; Richard Grant, fifth, 18:21.75; Eden Grant, 16th, 20:26.39; Victor Garcia, 17th, 20:30.28; David Garcia, 20th, 21:18.92; Jose Lopez, 31st, 24:27.15; and Lazaro Hernandez, 38th, 29:31.94 

Individual varsity girls results for county athletes included:

-Edgewood: Claire James, first, 12:54.08; Shannon Baker, ninth, 15:06.6; Mikayla Oldfield, 16th, 16:14.1; Jacie Elliott, 17th, 16:20.68; Jordan Faulkner, 20th, 17:07.04; and Aspen Hoover, 22nd, 17:22.29

-Grand Saline: Shayne Carnes, 19th, 17:02.27; Ana Pruneda, 24th, 18:50.31; and Nevia Thayer, 31st, 21:31.11

Runners advancing to the Regional Meet in Grand Prairie Oct. 23 are set to include the Noble Smith, Claire James, Shannon Baker, Mikayla Oldfield, Jacie Elliot, Jordan Faulkner and Aspen Hoover of Edgewood and Eric Grant, Richard Grant, Eden Grant, Victor Garcia, David Garcia, Jose Lopez and Lazaro Hernandez of Grand Saline.


For more stories like this one, subscribe to the Van Zandt News or pick up a copy from one of our vendors.