Honors roll in for Mustangs, Lady Mustangs

Error message

  • Notice: Undefined index: taxonomy_term in similarterms_taxonomy_node_get_terms() (line 518 of /home1/vanzand1/public_html/vanzandtnews/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
  • Notice: Undefined offset: 0 in similarterms_list() (line 221 of /home1/vanzand1/public_html/vanzandtnews/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
  • Notice: Undefined offset: 1 in similarterms_list() (line 222 of /home1/vanzand1/public_html/vanzandtnews/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).

The Martins Mill Mustangs and Lady Mustangs each put together impressive seasons on the hardwood in 2016-'17, with the Mustangs reaching the Area round of the playoffs and the Lady Mustangs finishing as this year's 2A State runner-up.

Unsurprisingly, post season honors have continued to roll in for both in recent weeks.


District 14-2A coaches recently released their list of Superlative and All-District honorees for the 2016-'17 season.

Garrett Celsur earned the team's lone Superlative honor this season, earning Newcomer of the Year honors from competing coaches. Noah Ingram, Michael Hawes and Bryson Waynick were all named First Team All-District performers, and Luke Morrow and Karson Gowin both earned Second Team All-District recognition.

Celsur was also recognized by the Texas Association of Basketball Coaches as one of 20 2A players to be named to the All-Region team, and Noah Ingram was selected to compete in the Trinity Valley All-Star Game in April.

To read the full article, subscribe to the Van Zandt News or pick up a copy from one of our vendors.